Lady Mary Boleyn
Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand
Profile
Sign My Guest Book
powered by
SignMyGuestbook.com

The twenty-fifth of May in the Year of Our Lord FIfteen Nineteen - Evening

New Page 1

Greetings and well met ma chere!

There seemeth to hath been a rather involved correspondence betwixt my sister and Sir William Paget as to the content of my character and virtues. Suffice it to say, mom amie, that I shall turn the other cheek as any goodly woman of Christendom wouldst do and nay respond to their insidious barbs. LAisez les enfants etre enfants (I cringe at my butchering of the French tongue!) Come judgment day our Lord will look deep into their hearts and know of their evil deeds and thoughts and slanderous words spoken against me. I shall nay speak of it again and shall allow them to wallow in their insidious guilt. I shall here endeth this dissertation on the matter as it be not worth my time nor energy to make further comment on. Finis.

I doth move on to matters of a more romantic interest in that there be a man at court who hath caught mine eye. In fact, there be two, but sadly, one be of such high station that 'twould be most scandalous to be seen in or mentioned in his company, so his identity shall for now remain anonymous. However cherie, one hint for favor, he do be related to His Majesty. I shall leave it at that.

The other gentleman of whom I speak do be one William Carey. He haileth from a rather elevated station, a good family, he posesseth an angelically handsome face, soft hands, masterful handling of his steed and he be a Gentleman of the Privy, a remarkable position for one so young to accomplish in such a short time. Merci! He be quite close to and in favor with His Majesty and I dare say may be privy (there be no pun intended here!) to his most intimate secrets. I possess the highest of hopes that whatever rumors or innuendo hath followed me from the courts of France, he do turn a deaf ear to and wouldst pshaw those who wouldst try to turn his lovely thoughts against me. I believeth that his affections are turning increasingly toward me and I be tickled at the display. He hath shown nary a hint of carnal lust for me in his eyes, but instead tenderness and sincerity and I believe him to be a virtuous gentleman educated in the ways of courtly amour. He speaketh softly and tenderly and we hath had many a stolen moment together in the gardens and under tress where we have whittled away the time speaking at great length on a variety of topics including the political situation in France, history of of our beloved country and the intricate and delicate science of breeding horses. I couldst listen to him speak for hours on any topic no matter how dull. Mon dieu! I fear I maybe falling in love. Mayhap father shouldst speak with his family and His Majesty regarding the presentation of a dowry. Marriage to such a man as him wouldst make me a happy woman, and happy in more ways than one. I do hope in my heart of hearts that I may be as happy with him as Nan is with her Henry Percy. We both be lucky women.

However, I must leave my near dream state of thoughts for my dear William and I digress to my topic of earlier ponderance. Mayhap I shouldst nay be too harsh on poor Sir William as his wife was recently deceased and his poor feeble mind do be confused about his feelings towards those of the fairer sex. He being a fellow lover of all things Francais, he deserveth mine affections of a caring and compassionate nature for his loss and I shall nay speak of this again. I be embarrassed to say however that during a recent incident I didst mistake his conversation to mean his intentions were other than those he verbalized and I appologised profusely for enveloping him in a "cloak of darkness" as it were during this most unfortunate exchange. The exact nature of what took place shall remain a secret betwixt the two of us.

My dearest, supper is now being prepared and the time to dine hath drawn nigh. I leaveth thee with a heart full of anticipation and hope for the future.

All my amour.

Marie.

Days of Yore - Anon

Rennies Diary Ring