Lady Mary Boleyn
Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
DiaryLand
Profile
Sign My Guest Book
powered by
SignMyGuestbook.com

The Fourteenth of March, in the Year of Our Lord, 1521 - early evening

New Page 1

Mon amie!!!

This day I hath spent crying a river of tears. Prithee, I do beg of thee, what didst I do to deserve such a fate?

His Majesty and our Master of Revels, Sir Richard Clarke hath bade me to lead a goodly troupe of court players in a pageant whereupon Our Lord, through the goodly workings of His Righteous People, doth smite the evil Devil, who hath taken hold of one who were as pious as the most holy of Christian Popes and worked his wicked ways to turn him to the ways of evil. He hath been cursed to walk the earth for all eternity for blaspheming God, and must consume the blood of others for his sustenance! How couldst one conjure up in one's mind such a hideous and vile creature! Surely God intends for us to learn a lesson and to follow him in utmost faith and humility lest our poor wretched souls find no solace upon our own deaths. However, I be not afeared of the theme of this work. It be brilliant. Wrought by His Majesty's own hand. And I be not afeared of whom His Majesty hath personally selected to play the parts in this production for it be a goodly group of mine own peers and dearest friends including Her Highness, Mary Rose Tudor, Duchess of Suffolk who hath agreed to oversee the pageant�s finer points and details. Nor am I afeared that mine own dear Sister Anne hath been selected to portray our heroine, Sir William Paget as the villain whose soul Satan hath wrought with his evil doings, and Lady Jane Seymour as a poor victim of our villain. Nor am I vexed that mine own uncle, Sir Thomas Howard be playing our hero who dost fall under the spell of a bevy of wicked Satanic concubines. I am quite delighted in sooth that Henry Fitzroy, Lord Richmond hath been chosen to portray our tragic figure whose poor tortured soul can find no rest, save his own death and demise at the hands of our wicked villain. 

No dear friends, these things vex me not. They vex me not. What hath made me fear be that grouping all together, there be a certain lack of discipline that couldst overwhelm us at our rehearsals therefore rendering them ineffective! Oh dear friends! I pray that it be not so, that my goodly troupe shall surely see that His Majesty doth expect a great deal from me and I fear that my leadership shouldst let him down. 

I do be grateful that His Majesty and our goodly Master of Revels hath seen in me, a quality and ability to bring to fruition, my visions. I shall strive to nay disappoint, but to rise up above all challenges and put forth for the court a production surely to dazzle and behold as a dramatic coup d'etat.

I shall strive to remain diligent in documenting our progress and make it a personal goal of mine to nay lose my temper. 

As I didst care to mention at the outset of this narrative, I didst spend my day, crying a river. Why wouldst the Lady Mary cry you ask? It be for the time it didst take us to read through the narrative and stage direction evening last! Were that there were no jokes being made, or additional dialogue being introduced in an improvisational manner, I dare say this could have taken an hour less than actuality. But I didst remain calm, cool and collected.

I hath let it be known that or rehearsals shall be productive as they be scarce and every minute doth count to the utmost.

Dearest friend, I shall write in thee soon of our progress, and pray that it be good.

Till then, anon ma chere!

Mary

Days of Yore - Anon

Rennies Diary Ring